CDN’s Board

CDN is managed by a Board of volunteers whose expertise includes arts practice, academia, local and state government, the non-profit sector and arts organisations.

Board Members

Nalika PeirisNalika Peiris, Chair (appointed May 2010)
Nalika is currently the Unit Manager, Community Development and Social Policy at Moreland City Council. She has held a number of roles in inner-city local government over the last fifteen years. Much of her work has been in the community development and cultural development areas, including family, children and youth services, community grants, managing volunteers, community planning, Indigenous and Reconciliation, cultural diversity, disability and community engagement. Her current professional and volunteer work has a strong focus on issues of diversity, participation, strategic planning and organisational culture. Nalika has a Bachelor of Education (Primary – Visual Arts Major), Master of Education (Arts Administration) and Advanced Diploma of Business Management.
Contact Nalika


Paul HoltonPaul Holton, Treasurer, (appointed May 2000)
Paul is Director, Development, at East Gippsland Shire Council. His role encompasses strategic management of Land Use Planning, Economic Development and Municipal Services across the East Gippsland Shire. He has worked in local government for more than twenty years in areas such as arts facilities administration, cultural development, leisure facilities and events management. Paul was part of the team that initiated the highly successful Wangaratta Festival of Jazz. He is a former member of the Australia Council’s Community Cultural Development Board.
Contact Paul


Angela BaileyAngela Bailey, Deputy Chair, (appointed May 2006)
Angela is a photographic artist with diverse experience in Community-based practise. Angela has lectured and tutored in Photography at Monash Gippsland and the University of Melbourne and has work in the collections including the National Gallery of Australia, Queensland Art Gallery and the State Library of Victoria. Angela has a Bachelor of Communication from QUT; a Postgraduate Diploma in Fine Art from the VCA and a Masters in Art Curatorship from the University of Melbourne. In 2005 Angela received an Australia Council Community and Cultural Development Skills and Professional Development Award for travel to the United Kingdom. In addition to her role on the CDN Board, Angela is also a Life Member of Midsumma Festival and Brisbane Lesbian and Gay Pride Festival.
Contact Angela

Hanut Singh DoddHanut Singh Dodd, (appointed May 2006)
Hanut is a highly experienced cultural, heritage and tourism manager with specialised skills in museum management, cultural and environmental tourism, event management, exhibition development, public program management, architectural conservation, moveable cultural heritage and collection management. Hanut has more than ten years experience as a freelance curator and architectural conservator and has also worked for the NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service as Area Manager at the Hill End Historic Site, as Director of the National Wool Museum and for councils in Victoria including Cities of Melbourne, Port Phillip and Hume. Hanut is currently a Project Manager with the Department of Sustainability and Environment. He is working on mitigating the effects of the wildfire on cultural heritage and redesign of DSE and Park Victoria’s firefighting fleet.
Contact Hanut


Nick HillDr Nicholas Hill (appointed December 2007)
Nick Hill is General Manager, Australia-India Institute.  Previously he was Lecturer, Arts Management and Media and Communications at the University of Melbourne and Senior Lecturer in Arts Marketing and Course Director, South Bank University, England.  His qualifications include BA (Hons), PG DipM, MA and PhD, which was entitled ‘The Folk and the People: Patronage and Promotion in the Tamasha of Maharashtra’.  His research interests include arts and patronage, South Asian performing arts (folk – popular – traditional) and public diplomacy.
Contact Nicholas


Greg BoxGreg Box (appointed May 2011)
Greg Box is currently the Manager of Arts Culture & Heritage at Yarra Ranges Council developing a number of cultural facilities. He has worked as an arts practitioner and administrator with many different communities from a diverse range of social and cultural backgrounds. Much of Greg’s work has focussed on building community partnerships and cultural development projects at Greater Dandenong and Yarra Ranges. In particular he has a strong background in creating public art in local government and helped establish SITE: RMIT Public Art within the school of art at RMIT.
Contact Greg

Rod FyffeCouncillor Rod Fyffe (Representative of the Board of the Municipal Association of Victoria. Appointed Sep. 2012)
Rod Fyffe has been a Councillor for the Greater Bendigo City Council since 1996 and Mayor in 2004, 2005 and 2011. He a member of the Board of the Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV) representing Rural North Central Victoria. He is also a member of the Insurance Committee, Chair of the Environment Advisory Group, Chair of the Arts and Culture Committee and a member of the Professional Development Reference Group at MAV. Cr. Fyffe is a Member of the Ministerial Advisory Council on Libraries, a Member of the State Library Public Libraries Advisory Committee and an alternate representative on the Australian Packaging Covenant Council. He has been awarded the Victorian Councillor Service Award – 20 Years.